Problematic Pink Pets Preventing Progress

It all started with a pile of rock

rock

A BIG pile of rock! Twenty-one tons of rock.

I planned on moving that rock and spreading it out across the back of my house with the intention of having a level yard. In the future I will either cover it with dirt and low growing ground cover, or with gravel dust and then slate tiles for a nice patio.

I already have an area set for the new Chair Time location.

I am very excited about the prospects. It will be very nice either way, patio or ground cover.

I am moving the rock by hand. One shovel full at a time. One wagon load at a time. The hoe will be very well used.

It will take me approximately one week assuming I get to work. One week, assuming I don’t run into any interference.

Then I put the shovel down and went around the house to dump the load. When I returned, I sighted something interesting.

Apparently my flamboyance wanted to get in on the action.

flamingo rock (3)

They seemed to really want to help me. As you can see, they teamed up together to try to maneuver the shovel for me.

flamingo rock2flamingo rock3 flamingo rock5 flamingo rock6

Needless to say, they were not successful.

flamingo rock7

But they sure gave it their best effort.

flmgorock

Twenty-one tons of rock is a lot to move, especially by hand. Some people would think it was not worth it. Some people would look at that pile of rock and become overwhelmed by the notion of moving it all.

Not me. I know that it is like eating the proverbial elephant, only instead of one bite at a time it is one shovel full at a time.

I not only have the ability to do this, I have the interest. I know the reward will be great and that keeps me going.

Apparently it was a little too much for this poor flamingo.

flamingo rock8

Oh, my poor little pesky pet. I thanked him for his good intentions and brought him over to see the pretty pink flowers. Pretty pink petals always perk up my pesky pink pets.

pink3 pink4 pinkpink2

Today’s challenge: Remember when people are trying to help, especially kids, they may make work more challenging but it is their intention that you should appreciate. Also, when tasks seem too daunting to tackle, just take it one step at a time and be proud of how ever much you accomplish.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in May's Challenge
13 comments on “Problematic Pink Pets Preventing Progress
  1. Seriously lol’ing at flamingos distributing gravel!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anxious Mom says:

    Hahaha way to go flamingos!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. SD Gates says:

    I don’t know which is more amusing, the Flamingos trying to move gravel or the image of you attempting to arrange them on that huge pile of gravel to make them look like they are moving it. Great post!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I did not maneuver them at all. They are magical! Okay, yes, it was great fun. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates says:

        Was it hard to climb up on that pile of gravel? I would think there would be a lot of slipping and sliding. I remember using about 20 cubic yards (I think, it was a bunch – that I know for sure) to make paths between my raised beds in Seattle. Took me forever. I had some rocking biceps by the time I was done. I was having flashbacks looking at your pile of gravel!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I did not have to climb the pile, but I have climbed them before just for the fun of it and yes, there is a lot of slipping and sliding. I hope you are enjoying the paths and the biceps.

        Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates says:

        That was several years ago, sold the house in Seattle (had the most beautiful gardens) heard the new owners took every bit of gravel out and all the flower beds and put grass back in. The biceps have gone to hell, nothing left of them. Maybe I should buy a pile of gravel – just so I can move it around and get in shape again – hmmm – interesting idea.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That is very sad news for my soul. So much work and love into the gardens and someone takes it all out. I bet they used heavy equipment as well. Well, I think I will not think about it. I will support your decision to get gravel or not.

        Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates says:

        But – there is a bright (but slightly vindictive)side to all of that. The reason I put the raised beds in the first place, was there was a low spot in that portion of the lawn, and during the winter months it would turn it to a veritable swimming pool (poor drainage, at the bottom of the street (corner house). I suspect they will really be regretting their decision and in hindsight see the wisdom of my ways and the gravel – (with the French drain beneath it). They will have to put on wading boots to get to their backdoor (tee-hee)!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

