Savor the Flavor

Today is the start of a three day weekend for many people. It is also a Saturday. That means I got to sleep in today.

I woke around 10. I read a chapter of a book while drinking two cups of coffee, and eating fruit and cereal. Great way to start the day!

Then I spent an hour throwing rocks. Yep, I literally threw rocks. You see, a friend has a deck over a little hill of dirt. I have been placing large rocks over the dirt so the rains don’t wash the dirt away. The only problem is the deck is above the hill so it is impossible to stand under it or dump a load of rock. The easiest way to accomplish the mission is to throw the rocks. It is like a game, like skeet ball, my favorite game!

Now throwing rocks for an hour is quite cathartic. It takes little thought, other than making sure the dirt is covered. It involves physical activity that gets the blood and thoughts flowing. Today, probably because I slept in and had a relaxing breakfast, the thoughts were all pleasant.

I, without any conscious manipulation of where the thoughts were leading, was reflecting on all the things I have done that have been kind and helpful to others. I kept thinking about people who are doing well because of little things I have done to help them. I thought of young people growing into respectable adults and realizing I had influenced them in a positive way.

Don’t take this the wrong way, I am not saying, hey look at me I am great. What I am saying is that if we take a little time to just relax and do something enjoyable though mindless, we are giving ourselves a chance to reflect on what is good and great and how important we are to the world.

At least that’s what the voice in my head has told me.

Now, there was another thought that ran through my head. Savor the flavor.

You see, I have a bit of a problem. I admit it. Admitting it is half the battle, right? I have a tendency to eat and drink a lot. When I am at a gathering, and there is food, I tend to eat without really thinking about it. Once I start, I don’t stop. The food tastes so good, I can’t get enough. Don’t judge me, I know I am not the only one.

With this weekend being filled with cookouts I kept thinking that I should savor the flavor. I think this fits with life and not just food and drink. If we just take each bite or sip and enjoy it for what it is, we won’t need to keep shoving things in our mouths. At least that is my plan for this weekend.

It is the same with life. If we take each moment and enjoy it for what it is, we won’t need to be rushing around trying to get the most out of it. It is not how much we eat, drink, or get done that matters. It is the quality of the food, drink, or activity.

So this Memorial Day Weekend, take a step back and look around at all the wonderful people in your life. And above all else, Savor the Flavor.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in May's Challenge

Leave a Reply

