Listen

What better way to start trying to figure out who you are than by listening? No, I don’t mean listening to other people whom you encounter endlessly throughout the day. Yes, most of these people have kind hearts and wonderful intentions as they prattle on about what you should do and what you should think. Then, I suspect, many spend more time telling you their problems, asking you advice, and saying such things as, “Can you believe s/he said/did that!”. Now you end up spending a lot of valuable time worrying about these situations instead of dedicating time to yourself and who you want to be.

I am also not talking about listening to talk shows or any news forms. Have you ever noticed that there are endless experts who gladly talk about a subject whether it be best diets, best health care, best anything that they are certain will make your life better as long as you follow their suggestions. Then you turn on another channel to find another show with a different expert telling you the exact opposite?

How many times have you seen a news reporter tell you that we need to worry about what one country is doing, only to find out the next day that the horrible country is now our ally and we need to worry about some other world leader? It can be seriously overwhelming. I definitely am not suggesting you listen to them.

Now, please don’t misunderstand me. I am not saying you should ignore your friends and walk away when they start talking. That would be a ridiculous suggestion. Within a week you would be extremely lonely because you would not have any friends. Imagine!

I heard of an actor who told someone he didn’t want to exchange phone numbers because he already had enough friends. That’s fine for him, well pretty awesome really, but most of us are looking to have more friends and deeper connections with the ones we have so it is obvious you wouldn’t just ignore your friends when they are talking.

I am also not saying to stop reading or watching the news altogether if that is what you like to do. Ignorance is not really bliss. Although there are a lot of things in this world that I do not want to explore any further than I must. I don’t think I need to list them, you can imagine.

What I am saying is, take time to truly listen to yourself, your higher power, angels, whatever you want to call the voice that talks to you when there is no other sound surrounding you. Listen to your authentic self.

Now, I know you are saying that is not so easy to do. Actually, it is easy. It just takes practice.

1. Take ten minutes, it can be in the morning if you push the sleep button on your alarm and stay in bed with your eyes closed. It can be however long you take to fall asleep at night., after you turn off the television and close your eyes. It can be any time you choose.

2. Don’t think about anything, don’t worry about what you’re going to eat, wear, or do during the day. Just breathe. You don’t even have to concentrate on your breathing, just breathe and quiet your mind.

   Sound like meditating? Yep, that is exactly what you’re doing. But you don’t have to think about it as meditating because for some people the idea of meditating is overwhelming. Just breathe, because if you don’t breathe, you will not have to worry about listening, you will be deceased and I don’t want that. Neither do you, right?

3. After you have done this for a few days, maybe longer, you will be able to take the next step. Listen. Ask yourself a question that is important to you. It may be something as simple as what should I wear to look my best for a meeting? Or you may want to know what you should do about a situation at work with a toxic relationship.

4. Don’t think. Don’t replay conversations and events. Just breathe and listen. For ten minutes, just breathe and see if your inner voice comes through.

I find that if I ask myself a question before I go to sleep, I usually wake up with an answer. It especially works well with the simple questions. For the more difficult problems, like relationships, I tend to just get an idea for one step to take. It takes time, but it is really easy once you try.

Quiet your mind child,

hold your words

open your heart child

what have you heard?

Now, feel free to share what you’ve heard.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Posted in Our Souls' Purpose
One comment on “Listen
  1. suzicate says:

    Worrying doesn’t change anything. When I find myself doing so I take a deep breath and reroute my perspective.
    Listening (to oneself) is the key to the world. Our hearts lead the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

